Back to school

Greetings earthlings!

School is starting in a few days for me and I figured I may as well write a blog post about it as you do 😉 Only thing is that similar to a last minute essay, it goes off in an interesting direction lol

When I was thinking about what to write, I immediately hit a writing block and I just couldn’t think of anything. Several songs and an hour of procrastination later, I started asking myself what I did to get ready for school. That was simple enough I thought, I get books (this year I had an all time low number f books and I had to get a laptop but I digress), I try to hang out with everyone and enjoy my last few days of freedom before I go back to schedules, homework, choir etc.

The funny thing is, I’m one of those people who generally likes school but lately the idea of waking up early, homework and yr 12 NCEA (NZ’s education system thing) has been freaking me out. I was altogether way too focussed on all the scary aspects of school even though my school days with my friends are where most of my favourite memories are made. Talking abut that, I have ZERO classes with my close friends and I feel like I have already written this year off as bad. But I realise that I am way too quick to do that and not just with school but with any part of my life that isn’t immediately amazing.

So I started asking myself why I felt the need to put a negative spin on something that I genuinely had no idea would turn out. It had something to do with previous experiences and therefore expecting the worst but sometimes when you assume the worst of a situation, that is what makes it bad, not the actual situation. Basically what I realised is that I’m prone to judging or criticising something even before I have experienced it first hand and I don’t think I’m the only one who does that.

This year has already started off eventful to put it lightly and frankly not the way most of us would have liked it to. I guess I’m just saying take it one day at a time. So this year when you start a new year of school, another year of University or even a job, just try to start without any negative thoughts. I know that it’s a lot harder to do than it is to say but I know that I’m going to try.

I’m aware that for a post about school it was really about more than school, I’m not quite sure where this came from… I mean I have few ideas 😉 However, this still isn’t what I planned and I guess that’s what… I’m trying to say?  Life can be confusing and it definitely doesn’t stick to the plan that we have for it, but that doesn’t necessarily make it bad. If you live life a day at a time and try not to be negative especially before you have the chance to experience, that can make all the difference.

I didn’t realise that I wanted to vent (as vague as it was) until I started writing so I apologise if you came to read a funny post.

Anju ❤

5 Comments Add yours

  1. luimariablog says:

    ooo lovely post – I’m actually so excited to start back though lol 😉 although, it’ll be weird not having u in my class 😦 but we’ll have lunch 🙂 ❤ and i agree – i am trying to keep a positive view on it 🙂 xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. mandalf584 says:

      Lol I’m trying and I feel like I’m failing… I’m just gonna focus on english haha and classics 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. luimariablog says:

        haha same here! and german obvs lol 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Maria Appleby says:

    Hi Anju! Beafree suggested to her readers to take a peek at your blog and here I am! *waves* I wish you the best of luck with your studies. Most things end up being about a lot of things not originally intended, so I actually appreciated the little journey your blog took me on. Your advice about trying to stay positive is right on.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. mandalf584 says:

      Aww thank you so much!! That was really sweet 🙂 I thought it was a bit odd so your words are much appreciated ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

