10/12 Days of Blogmas

Hello my fellow bloggers 🙂

Today I thought I would write about all the things that I’m thankful for this Christmas! So many people in this world live a harsh life and have not experienced true love and the love only a family can give. You may be thinking that someone passed away in my family or somebody who was close to me but that is not the case.

Today’s post was inspired by the movie and play “The Colour Purple” and it is simply amazing!!!!!! I love Cynthia Erivo’s voice and soul and she just invokes so many feelings in me when she sings in the play “The Colour Purple” and the story of Celie which was played out by Whoopi Goldberg in the 1985 movie adaptation of Alice Walker’s book. I’m basically in love with the musical and the actual movie. I’m reading the book now and so far it’s amazing 🙂

You may think it is a bit weird for me to be so affected by a movie that I’m writing a post but after watching it you’ll understand.

Back to the topic of today’s post. I have a loving family, friends who are kind and funny and I’m lucky to be living in a world that is more culturally friendly and diverse than ever. I’m thankful for all the special gifts I’ve been given and all the opportunities I’ve had and the people who have changed and made my life better. Most of all I’m thankful for my family and for being born into a family that loves and nurtures me and lets me grow in my own way.

Many people don’t have that. Many people live in war zones and have lost loved ones. Many people are oppressed and abused. Many people feel worthless and alone. Many people want to belong but don’t know how. In a world that loves and hates, forgives and holds grudges, is both beautiful and ugly, that is progressing and also going backwards, I want to say thank you to God for everything I have been given!

The movie I saw dealt with many conflicts like racism, sexism and some topics that I’m not comfortable mentioning but it made me realise how lucky I am to be born in the 21st Century, in a time where social media rules the world and can lift people up and praise those deserving of it. Social media does good and bad things but as my post is about being thankful, I’m only mentioning the good. This platform has brought many people together and united us when others tried to tear us apart and for that I am grateful.

I know that this post is a lot more intense and loaded than usual and I apologise if that isn’t what you came for. I just felt that if I feel strongly enough about something and I have the chance to make the difference or to at least educate or remind people of the good in this world we live in, then I should take that opportunity.

Thank you for reading! If you take something away from this post let it be that you are important! You are beautiful! That someone will always love you! That you can change lives! You can make someone’s day better! You are strong and capable! You matter and should not have to change for others! That you were made with a purpose!

I’m not trying to force everyone to love everything in this world but simply asking you to take a moment to be grateful for everything you have this Christmas…

Hope you enjoyed reading this ❤

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. luimariablog says:

    wow… this is just amazing Anju! This is amazingly written, and holds such an important message! I really love this 🙂 ❤ xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. mandalf584 says:

      Aww thank you 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. mandalf584 says:

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

