6/12 Days of Blogmas

Hello earthlings!!

I was pondering what I should blog about today and then I remembered that I had left my bat cave last night to perform at an Indian Function so I may as well blog about that life changing experience πŸ˜‰ (If you aren’t picking up on my dry humour I’m told I have, it wasn’t life changing at all πŸ˜› )

A little bit of background info:

  1. I was born in South India so I cannot and have never been able to speak Hindi.
  2. Contrary to popular belief, there are many different Indian languages and I speak (poorly) one out of the few hundreds.
  3. This was not meant to offend anyone but I am quite used to answering such questions so I thought it would be best to get them out of the way πŸ™‚

Anyway, back to the function.

I’m quite used to waiting forever for it to start (because apparently the Malayali community does not know the concept of being on time… EVER!)Β And lo behold, they started an hour and a half late… to be fair we only got there after half an hour because we knew they would be late πŸ˜‰ (Or so my mother claims.)

Having said that it was a really nice program and there were so many amazing singers πŸ™‚ I sang with the carol singers and we didn’t sound too shabby πŸ™‚ Apparently the fly buzzing around me wanted to join in because it kept coming back and I felt like a special case swatting an imaginary (to the audience) fly with my almost reflex derp face hahaha

My sister and I performed a mix of two songs: O Re Piya from the film Aaja Nachle and Nagada Sang Dhol fromΒ Goliyon Ki Rasleela Ram-Leela (it’s a mouthful, I’m aware πŸ˜‰ ) We overestimated ourselves because dancing in such heavy skirts was so hard and we almost face planted like 10 times hahaha. But there was one moment when I moved forward and they sent smoke behind me… they could have left it there but the smoke mahine just wasn’t done and then poof… we were no more πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

I’ve attached some photos of us performing (I’m on the left in the bright red skirt and white shawl thing that is all over the place πŸ˜‰ ) and our outfits.

15337164_1287013014702028_1181618831106244608_n

20161218_20162820161218_201620

I loved all the songs people danced to and sang and all around it was a good time! πŸ™‚ We had food last and it was standard fare of fried rice (courtesy of my dad), chicken curry, lamb curry, this really nice vegetable korma thing, chickpea curry (again courtesy of my dad), a salad and we finished off with ice cream!!! πŸ™‚ The food was really good but the queue leading up to it was massive… luckily my sister decided to distract us with selfies πŸ˜‰ Kids these days hahaha even though my sister’s older than me πŸ˜›

I hope you enjoyed and thanks for reading!! πŸ™‚

 

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. luimariablog says:

    omg that sounds great!! it must’ve been amazing!! πŸ˜€ it sounds awesome πŸ™‚ and u two look so pretty ❀ xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. mandalf584 says:

      Aww thank you πŸ™‚ Hahaha I don’t think you would appreciate the hour and a half wait πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. luimariablog says:

        haha no I don’t think I would πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€ btw, check ur phone!! πŸ™‚ xx ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. mandalf584 says:

        Hahaha will do πŸ™‚ Sorry!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. luimariablog says:

        hahaha all g πŸ˜‰ xx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Silviya says:

    You look so pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. mandalf584 says:

      Aww thank you so much πŸ™‚ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

