1/12 Days of Blogmas

Bonjour earthlings!! ❀

dsc_0721I hope everyone is well and getting into the Christmas spirit! πŸ™‚
For my first day of Blogmas I thought I’d talk to you about one of my favourite parts of the Christmas season… the lights.

We usually put up a few lights but mainly admire the one house in the neighbourhood that goes hard core leading up to Christmas but this year we may have turned into that house. My dad was super excited and put up a forest of lights on our house, even hung some on the trees beside the house and last but not least placed our party/disco lights in front of the house thereby lighting up the front of the already lit up house.

The photo I’ve attached was taken earlier but it captures the essential idea behind the lights. I’m really proud of my dad for putting them up and I’m quite surprised as well that they have managed so stay up so well despite the cruel winds we’re often faced with.

My favourite thing about this is that even though Christmas day usually doesn’t consist much of lights (at least at our house), the lights symbolise a lot more than just Christmas cheer. I always thought of them as little stars and if you are at all familiar with Christianity/Catholicism then you will know that we believe Jesus was born on Christmas Day and I like to think of the lights as our many stars guiding the ‘Wise Men’ to Jesus. Can you tell that I love English? πŸ˜‰

All that aside, lights not only make you happy but all those around you and from previous experience, seeing houses that are lit up often provide a lot more joy to onlookers than the house owners.

Do you guys go hardcore with your lights?
Leave me a comment about your favourite part of Christmas and hopefully I’ll be able to blog about it ❀

Also I apologise in advance if I take forever to reply to your message and just know that I have the worst memory and often go straight to my TV shows and forget about WordPress (I know I’m a horrible human being πŸ˜› ).

Au revoir for now ❀

3 Comments Add yours

  1. luimariablog says:

    gorgeous lights!! so festive!! πŸ˜€ xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. mandalf584 says:

      Thank you thank you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. luimariablog says:

        anytime πŸ™‚ xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

